Zucchini and Gorgonzola Risotto

Guess who taught me this recipe? Valentina! I have tried making risotto in the past and had always been uncertain if I was doing it right. So, I’m really happy when she came over one night and showed me some of her tricks. The best trick I learned was to prepare the stock in a separate bowl and to add in one ladle at a time until you reach the right consistency. As usual, she didn’t measure her ingredients so I have since done some research and trials, and I’m quite confident with my measurements now. I also replaced the onion with some shallot because I think it tastes better and it’s gentler on my stomach.


Zucchini and Gorgonzola Risotto

  • 400 gr Arborio rice
  • 1 large Zucchini, cut into small dice
  • 150 gr Gorgonzola Dolce
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 2 chicken or vegetable stock cubes
  • 1/2 cup of white wine (optional)
  • 2 tablespoon cooking oil
  • 25 gr butter
  • grated parmesan to serve
  1. Prepare the stock by mixing the stock cubes with 6 cups of hot water in a large bowl.
  2. In a large pot, saute shallot with cooking oil until softens and fragrant.
  3. Add in rice until the colour starts to change. If you have white wine, you can add in and stir gently.
  4. Add a ladle of stock, stir and add zucchini in.
  5. From this point, you only need to add stock one ladle at a time, stir gently and cover until all liquid is absorbed before you add in another ladle of stock. Repeat until you add all the stock in or until you find the desired consistency.
  6. Turn off the heat, and add in butter and Gorgonzola.
  7. Serve with grated parmesan.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.